Home > cyber café, Kenya, Kisii > Another Step Towards Kenya

Another Step Towards Kenya

At 4,500 miles, it would take a while to walk to Kenya. So I have embarked upon another means of getting there and surviving financially when I get there.
My man in Kisii works part-time as the IT engineer for a cyber café in the town. It is not the biggest, or the smartest, or the most used, but it plods along, making a profit.

The owner is having to move to the City due to his work and needed a quick sale. My man heard about this and immediately contacted me.

I started hunting around, collecting pennies from down the back of the sofa, the car centre console, etc. but couldn’t quite make the asking price. So I had to go to plan 2 and beg.

The result was that yesterday, I could tell my man in Kisii to make an offer.

I am now sitting here in a very wet UK (the rain is chucking it down with high winds as I type) waiting to be told whether my offer has been accepted.

This is a big step. I would trust my man in Kisii with my life, so having him run a business in my absence isn’t an issue.

It is just the act of investing abroad. I have done it before and ended up with a very bloody nose. It is also a step towards setting up my nest in Kenya. I know that once I am settled, there will be no return because of the artificial currrency exchange rate.

The business is small. But it has a lot of potential to grow with a bit of imagination and hard work, and my man in Kisii is not afraid of hard work – he is a Kenyan after all!

Categories: cyber café, Kenya, Kisii
  1. glo
    May 26, 2008 at 12:47

    All the best in starting up your business in Kisii. By the way I’m a kenyan living in Wales and plans are underway for me and my partners-Wales and our 3 year old son to move to Kenya early next year. We + my brother have planted 4,000 Eucalyptus trees as a long term investment and I intend to buy 10 acres of land and plant either flowers or passion fruits or anything that can make us good returns with minimal costs but I think I’ll have to speak to someone at the Kenya Horticultural Development Program to get the right direction. Wish me luck!

  2. May 27, 2008 at 12:22

    Hi GloGood luck in your venture when you get home. Where abouts are you hoping to set up?I am also looking at cultivating in Kisii, but staples to feed the orphanage. I am hoping to get the older kids to tend their own food eventually.I am also hoping to set up a “model” shamba on my next visit, to promote the use of alternative technology.All the bestDM

  3. October 20, 2008 at 10:34

    hello,I just read your story today and its a moving one. I have some ideas on how you can raise some money from your cyber cafe.If you can contact me at sohgroup@yahoo.com i will share you the specifics.Hope to hear from you.kenneth

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

