Home > Kenya, weight loss > Ready to Lose weight?

Ready to Lose weight?

I know I am overdue to return to Kenya when my trousers start to get a bit tight round the waist.

It’s not my fault, but my job in the UK involves sitting in front of a computer all day, and being mildly disabled, I find exercise difficult. I have bought a bike, but in the recent bad weather , I thought it a little imprudent to go cycling.

And chocolate is for to easy to acquire in the UK.

What I need is a good stay in Kenya, eating only fresh fruit and vegetables, with a bit of meat on Sundays, no sweets, chocolate, candy, no cakes, biscuits, etc.

And most important, no car. Trying to stay in your seat during a six hour matatu ride must burn off a lot of calories, and just walking a few hundred metres at 5,700 feet altitude is also hard work. Just being subjected to 26°C to 35°C every day is hard work.

As soon as I get to Kenya, the pounds will soon drop off and I will be able to wear my trousers again, comfortably.

Categories: Kenya, weight loss
  1. HNG
    February 10, 2009 at 19:12

    I can relate to your experience. Whenever I’m in Kenya, I lose a lot of weight only to regain it all when I return to America. In Kenya, I walk about 2 miles to catch a bus to the nearest town and the same 2 miles back to my house. Unlike in America–where walking is an event, something to talk about at dinner with friends–in Kenya nobody notices, since most people walk out of necessity. Also, In Kenya, I eat only when I’m hungry–someone has to go buy food every day and cook it–it’s hard work. In America, the roadways are lined with fast-food chains seeking to draw you in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

