Home > Uncategorized > Does My Bum Look Big On This?

Does My Bum Look Big On This?

In an effort to lose the couch potato look,  I recently acquired a second-hand bicycle and go for a ride once a week, with a friend, around Greenham Common.

This is a mountain bike with knobbly tyres so I thought I would give it a go off the main paths – big mistake!

When I got back to “base”, I picked up the bike to put it in the back of the car and my hand came into some gooey, slimy muck. I will leave to your imagination what I was thinking.

But, this goo was not what I though it was. It was small lumps of gel, which had leaked from my saddle and onto the frame around the rear brakes. It probably failed when my not inconsiderable weight was bouncing around while off-road. That’ll teach me.

So, my saddle is now an ex-saddle.

Now comes the incredible part. I  keep an eye on a website called Freecycle. The idea is that people can offer things that they no longer want to other people who may find a use for it. One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.

And there, on Freecycle, someone was offering a bicycle saddle and post! Of course, I jumped at it and managed to acquire it, but what are the chances of finding a free saddle a couple of days after yours has given up the ghost?

I am, of course, extremely grateful to the poor guy who had had his bike stolen before he could fit the new saddle, but it means that I can continue to work on getting rid of my flab.

Now, where did  I put that Allen key?

Update

I found the Allen key and fitted the saddle, after a lot of messing around (the post that came with the new saddle would not fit the frame).

I have tried it out and all I can say is, “Wow!” It is sooo comfortable!

  1. March 17, 2009 at 04:18

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  2. April 10, 2009 at 07:21

    Hey, cool tips. Perhaps I’ll buy a bottle of beer to that man from that forum who told me to go to your blog 🙂

  3. April 10, 2009 at 10:50

    FANTASTIC!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

