Home > Cars, Kenya > Overland from UK to Kenya

Overland from UK to Kenya

Since my visit to South Africa in 1989 I have always dreamed of driving from here (Hampshire, UK) through Africa.

It was just a dream, but since I have established a base in Kenya,  the dream has become more intense, to the point that I am planning a route. I would be going overland from Newbury in the UK, through France, Belgium, Germany, Austria, Hungary, Serbia, Bulgaria, Turkey, Syria, Jordan or Israel, Sudan, maybe Ethiopia and then to Kisii in Kenya, a total of about 6,492.2 miles, according to my Garmin.

Now, my mind is on sponsorship. The trip in itself would be fantastic for me, but I want more than that, so if it goes ahead, it will be in order to raise funds for KCIS.

Full details, as far as they go, are posted on my other blog, and future updates will be updated there.

The Great Rift ValleyI have fixed an arbitrary limit for the cost of the vehicle to £3,000, including all upgrades, modifications and servicing, so it will be old. I also want to use a diesel as I intend to use bio-fuel for at least part of the trip, the idea being that I pick up used cooking oil en route and process it myself as I go.

I will be looking for a co-driver, ideally someone who has knowledge of how cars work, and who can put up with a grumpy old man for up to two months.

If you are interested, drop me a message. Also contact me if you have any advice, encouragement, or want to sponsor us.

Oh, if it goes ahead, it will probably be late this year or early in 2011.

  1. Sis Mary
    February 3, 2010 at 21:35

    God bless you Jimmy,
    Thank you fro your visit to Kenya and especially your visit to Dr Florence Wanbugu
    and her research in banana plantation.
    Am originally from Africa, Sierra Leone west Africa.
    I am looking for ways of helping Sierra Leone with all different farming.
    My brother is the Vice President and any good idea in Agriculture and other areas of development will be highly welcome.please send me detail of Dr Wanbugu’s research in banana growing. Also ve you got any interest in S.L thanks. Mary

    I wonder if you can make a way of

  2. February 3, 2010 at 23:37

    I don’t know if Jimmy will read your message. I am director of Kenyan Community Initiative Support – we try to find ways of helping people to improve their lives. You can see what we are trying to do at http://www.kcisupport.plus.com
    I have an interest in any place where people need help. If you want any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us. There is a contact page on the website.

  3. March 4, 2010 at 12:16

    It’s a fascinating trip. I tried it a long long time ago (I worked in Kenya from 94-97ish) but my co-driver crashed the car in Wadi Rum in Jordan, and I ended up having to fly out. The Sudan bit is the iffy one I think, just ordinarily dangerous, but I’m not sure if the west coast route (via Morrocco) is any better

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

