Home > Cars, Engineering, Environment, Kenya, Science, tinkering > Cars that Run on Water

Cars that Run on Water

What a dream that would be, just fill the tank up with water and off you go!

But it us just that, a dream – sort of.

However, I have looked at the possibility of producing hydrogen on demand in a car and feeding it into the fuel system – and it works. That is not to say that the car does not need petrol, but with the addition of hydrogen, it needs a lot less.

The principle is that there is a cell filled with water, electricity is passed through the water and the oxygen and hydrogen atoms are separated, producing a gas. This gas is then fed into the fuel system (on the air intake side) and petrol consumption goes down.

I thought, “What a lovely theory. ” But I was curious. The reports I had read seemed logical. I could not see any major flaw, other than badly designed cells exploding – well that can be overcome by designing a decent cell – but more of that another time.

I set to, passing a current through stainless steel electrodes in water. The electrodes started to fizz. I collected the gas that was given off and put a match to it. it went “pop”.

I increased  the flow of electricity (my first source was a cheap battery chrger, and I upgraded to a fully charged 12 volt car battery.

Oh boy, did that fizz! I put a match to the collected gas and got a bigger “pop”, a much bigger pop!

So, I can produce a flammable gas from water, and as water is made up of hydrogen and oxygen, I have to guess that it is hydrogen – neat.

I know that an ordinary car with an ordinary petrol engine will run on hydrogen. the Myth Busters have proved it.

So, the next step will be to build a decent, safe cell and plumb it into an old jalopy to see what happens. I have designed it. I could build it, but haven’t found all the components, yet. The worst that can happen is finding myself in low orbit, but I anticipate that I will be running said old jalopy on an petrol/hydrogen mix.

On carrying out more (and more … and more) research about the subject, I found a paper by a University in Tasmania that states that even diesel engines can benefit from an injection of hydrogen into the fuel. It can increase engine output by up to 40% – now that is interesting, especially if my dream of a gentle road trip from UK to Kisii, Kenya ever takes place.

So it you see an old jalopy going a lot faster than would seem decent, it may be me!

  1. February 2, 2010 at 17:23

    The main problem is that fuel is not a water but H2
    And H2 storage is not a solved thing right now

    http://www.fuelcellsinfo.com

  2. February 2, 2010 at 17:26

    Hi Alex, That is why this system only produces H2 on demand – no storage problems.

  3. March 4, 2010 at 12:10

    You still need an energy source to produce the H2; in your example you needed the electricity in a battery.

    And in that case you might as well use that energy source to run the car directly instead, without all the extra weight of the H2 generators and cells etc.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

